JUAN ORTIZ-APUY / EXPOSITION ET PRÉSENTATION D'ARTISTE / THE FREEDOM FIGHTER MANUAL

Juan Ortiz-Apuy
19.09 — 20.10 / 2012

Opening date : 19 September 2012

17h

The Freedom Fighter Manual refers to an installation work presented in a corridor built in the centre of the Sporobole showroom. Designed as an installation of silkscreens prints appearing and disappearing mysteriously in the dark, The Freedom Fighter Manual deals with power and language. This dyad is also found on the walls of the gallery, where photographs and a video pose, under false playful airs, the question of power.

The Freedom Fighter Manual is a 17-page document, printed by the CIA and air-dropped in Nicaragua in 1983 as part of a secret operation to overthrow the Sandinista government (a movement named after Augusto Sandino, a leading figure in the resistance to US military occupation). The manual contains a series of instructions on civil disobedience and revolt, inviting the population to take apparently harmless actions – destruction of books, absenteeism from work under the pretext of illness, false hotel reservations – up to more violent projects, such as the making of a Molotov cocktail or an incendiary bomb.

Exploring the ability of language to generate images, objects and situations, Juan Ortiz-Apuy considers it both as existing cultural material and an ineffable rumination as well as an event taking place in the social space. His work draws on a personal experience of geographical and cultural movements, from South to North, from the so-called Third World to the industrialized countries. This position has led him to focus on the interstices and overlaps between language, identity and violence.

Against the backdrop of a journey and journey, Ortiz-Apuy develops tools and a methodology that use the geographical map to link small and large cities, concepts and sources. He translates ideas into forms, as evidenced by the corpus of works Species of Spaces Series and A Map of the Empire of Language as a Place of Struggle, which completes the installation.

“My intention is not only to expose language, but also to play with it – to retain certain information and suggest hidden meanings, games and riddles. Thus, The Freedom Fighter Manual and the Species of Spaces series, presented at Sporobole, reflect the idea that power leads to resistance, and resistance, to new forms of power. It is partly my intention to highlight this contradiction and deadlock and thus to raise the paradoxical possibility of an adequacy between activism and inaction. “J.O.A.

Artist Juan Ortiz-Apuy will present his work to students from Bishop’s University and Champlain College on Wednesday, October 17 at 5:00 pm.
Welcome to all / Free entrance

/////

 

Video and editing : Martin Guimont and  Gaétan Desmarais

JUAN ORTIZ-APUY / EXPOSITION ET PRÉSENTATION D'ARTISTE / THE FREEDOM FIGHTER MANUAL

Juan Ortiz-Apuy
19.09 — 20.10 / 2012

Vernissage le 9 juillet 2013

17h

The Freedom Fighter Manual

The Freedom Fighter Manual désigne une œuvre installative présentée dans un couloir construit au centre de la salle d’exposition de Sporobole. Conçue comme une installation de sérigraphies apparaissant et disparaissant mystérieusement dans l’obscurité, The Freedom Fighter Manual traite de pouvoir et de langage. Cette dyade se retrouve également sur les murs de la galerie, où des photographies et une vidéo posent, sous de faux airs ludiques, la question du pouvoir.

The Freedom Fighter Manual est un document de 17 pages, imprimé par la CIA et aérolargué au Nicaragua en 1983 dans le cadre d’une opération secrète visant à renverser le gouvernement sandiniste (mouvement qui doit son nom à Augusto Sandino, figure de proue de la résistance à l’occupation militaire étatsunienne). Le manuel contient une série d’instructions en matière de désobéissance civile et de révolte, invitant la population à poser des gestes apparemment anodins – destruction de livres, absentéisme au travail sous prétexte de maladie, fausses réservations d’hôtel –, jusqu’à des projets plus violents, comme la fabrication d’un cocktail Molotov ou d’une bombe incendiaire.

Explorant la capacité du langage à générer des images, des objets et des situations, Juan Ortiz-Apuy considère celui-ci aussi bien comme un matériel culturel existant et une ineffable rumination qu’un événement se déroulant dans l’espace social. Son travail puise dans une expérience personnelle de déplacements géographiques et culturels, du Sud au Nord, du prétendu tiers-monde aux pays industrialisés. Cette position l’a amené à s’intéresser aux interstices et aux chevauchements qui existent entre le langage, l’identité et la violence.

Sur fond de parcours et de voyage, Ortiz-Apuy élabore des outils et une méthodologie qui invoquent la carte géographique pour relier les villes petites et grandes, les concepts et les sources. Il traduit les idées en formes, comme en témoignent le corpus d’œuvres Species of Spaces Series et A Map of the Empire of Language as a Place of Struggle, qui complète l’installation.

« Mon intention n’est pas seulement d’exposer le langage, mais également de jouer avec celui-ci – de retenir certaines informations et de suggérer des sens cachés, des jeux et des énigmes. Ainsi, The Freedom Fighter Manual et la série Species of Spaces, présentés à Sporobole, reflètent l’idée selon laquelle le pouvoir entraîne la résistance, et la résistance, de nouvelles formes de pouvoir. C’est en partie mon intention que de mettre en lumière cette contradiction et cette impasse et d’évoquer, de ce fait, la possibilité paradoxale d’une adéquation entre activisme et inaction. » J.O.A.

Dans le cadre d’une visite d’étudiants de l’Université Bishop’s et du Collège Champlain, l’artiste Juan Ortiz-Apuy fera une présentation de son travail, le mercredi le 17 octobre à 17h
Bienvenu à tous / Entrée libre

/////

 

Vidéo et montage : Martin Guimont et Gaétan Desmarais