M-A Houde / V Laganière / A Moreau / J Lessard L. 

Espace [IM] Média
11.09 — 19.10 / 2013

Opening date : 11 September 2013

17h

During the event Espace [IM] Média, Sporobole is presenting an exhibition examining obsolete mediation devices which brings together the work of Marie-Andrée Houde, Virginie Laganière, Jacinthe Lessard-L. and Aude Moreau.

 

Marie-Andrée Houde’s video L’Écran presents a fixed shot of the decrepit screen of the Ouimetoscope, the first movie theatre in Montreal and all of Canada, now no longer in use. The fixed shot is thus a way of moving the original screen through trompe l’oeil, with a white beam of light illuminating its materiality.

 

Virginie Laganière’s sound installation Le Théâtre de l’Ordre is located in an antechamber out of which escapes an audible murmur from an old radio equipped with four loudspeakers illuminated by a directional light. This equipment broadcasts the sound from film clips which foreground control, surveillance and power.

 

The series of photographs Les Chambres by Jacinthe Lessard-L. shows the moulded interiors of a number of different cameras: 35mm, large format and Polaroid. At first sight the forms appear enigmatic, and their ambiguity is reinforced by the absence of any referent. A tribute to the space which created a profound connection between photography and painting and art history, Lessard-L.’s moulding process makes visible the camera obscura, which digital photography has tended to make disappear.

 

Aude Moreau’s video installation Faire le vide takes the form of two experiments in providing a counterpoint to television images. The subject of the first is the reflection of the television screen when it is turned off while the artist empties her living space. The second explores the luminous vibrations reflected onto the walls during the screening of a film about the end of the world.

 

 

 

Credit photo: Jocelyn Riendeau

 

[nggallery id=32 template=dop-thumbnail-gallery images=11]

M-A Houde / V Laganière / A Moreau / J Lessard L. 

Espace [IM] Média
11.09 — 19.10 / 2013

Vernissage le 9 novembre 2013

17h

Dans le contexte de l’événement Espace [IM] Média, Sporobole présente une exposition qui rassemble des œuvres de Marie-Andrée Houde, Virginie Laganière, Jacinthe Lessard-L. et Aude Moreau qui mettent en perspective la désuétude d’appareils de médiation. 

L’œuvre vidéographique L’Écran de Marie-Andrée Houde présente en plan fixe l’écran vétuste du Ouimetoscope, la toute première salle de cinéma à Montréal ainsi qu’au Canada, désormais désaffectée. Sorte de trompe-l’œil, la projection propose le déplacement de l’écran d’origine, alors qu’une lumière blanche en éclaire la matérialité.

L’installation sonore Le Théâtre de l’Ordre de Virginie Laganière prend forme dans une antichambre d’où s’échappe une rumeur en provenance d’une vieille radio munie de quatre haut-parleurs éclairés par une lumière directionnelle. Cet appareillage diffuse des extraits sonores de films qui mettent en exergue contrôle, surveillance et pouvoir.

La série de photographies Les Chambres de Jacinthe Lessard-L. montre l’intérieur moulé de divers modèles d’appareils photo : 35 mm, grand format et Polaroid. D’emblée, les formes semblent énigmatiques, leur ambiguïté étant renforcée par l’absence de référent. Hommage à l’espace qui a irrémédiablement lié la photographie à la peinture et à l’histoire de l’art, le processus de moulage entrepris par Lessard-L. rend visible la camera obscura, que la photographie numérique tend à faire disparaître.

L’installation vidéographique Faire le vide d’Aude Moreau s’articule autour de deux expériences qui explorent le contrechamp des images télévisuelles. La première prend pour objet le reflet de l’écran de télévision éteint pendant que l’artiste vide son espace de vie. La seconde s’intéresse aux vibrations lumineuses reflétées sur les murs pendant la diffusion d’un film de fin du monde.

 

 

Crédit photo: Jocelyn Riendeau

[nggallery id=32 template=dop-thumbnail-gallery images=11]