EMANUEL LICHA / EXHIBITION AND CONFERENCE / HOW DO WE KNOW WHAT WE KNOW?

EMANUEL LICHA
09.09 — 22.10 / 2011

Opening date : 9 September 2011

17h

How do we know what we know? The studio journalist addresses the special envoy who was unable to access the conflict area mentioned in the report he produced from amateur images. Only a few years ago, we could still hear that it was the media that decided when a conflict began, as soon as journalists went there. The multiplication of images shot by the protagonists themselves, coupled with their almost instantaneous diffusion, modifies this equation. Do we still need the journalists?

Images are tools and weapons for the conduct of wars. This is not new in itself, but what is probably more new is the multiplication of their sources. This is therefore a good time to question “classical” journalistic work, which is based in particular on the rarely contested testimony of war correspondents. All the equipment surrounding this media coverage already seems a little outdated and may soon be obsolete: special envoys, film crews, satellite trucks, war hotels, “flash info” and other “breaking news”, the dramatic jingle of the newscast… What is a “good” conflict image? Where are they made and how will they be built tomorrow? How to criticize it with other images? Media production and dissemination create devices in which we are caught, and to which we contribute more or less voluntarily. It is the details – sometimes seemingly benign – of these devices that we can try to describe, so that we can think about them and perhaps get away from them.
E.L.

/////

Meeting with the public on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 2pm.

Jacko Restikian, artist and doctoral student in arts studies and practices at UQÀM.

Alexandre Shields, journalist at Le Devoir.

Moderator: Philippe Langlois, professor of philosophy at the Cégep de Sherbrooke.

Round table of 14h – 15h followed by questions / comments from the public

A round table activity inspired by Emanuel Licha’s How Do We Know What We Know? Licha’s installation questions our relationship to the media image and raises the question of the construction of images, particularly conflict images.

For the occasion, we bring together Jacko Restikian, doctoral student in arts studies and practices at UQÀM, who will discuss the artist’s position through his images and our relationship to his installation device, and Alexandre Shields, journalist for LeDevoir, who will discuss the construction of information from the perspective of his profession.

Free entrance

/ / / / / / /

By considering exhibitions as platforms allowing the convergence of different disciplinary issues, the programming committee determines a theme based on the work presented in the room, and brings together various stakeholders to explore the targeted issue from various disciplinary angles. Sporobole thus encourages contact with different fields of knowledge and allows the artists exposed to it to situate their work within transdisciplinary reflections.

Sporobole thanks the City of Sherbrooke for its support.

 

Vidéo : Patric Lacasse

Photos : Jocelyn Riendeau

EMANUEL LICHA / EXPOSITION ET CONFÉRENCE / HOW DO WE KNOW WHAT WE KNOW?

Emanuel Licha
09.09 — 22.10 / 2011

Vernissage le 9 septembre 2011

17h

How do we know what we know?

How do we know what we know? Le journaliste en studio s’adresse à l’envoyé spécial qui n’a pas pu avoir accès à la zone de conflit évoquée dans le reportage qu’il a fabriqué à partir d’images amateures. Il y a quelques années à peine, on pouvait encore entendre dire que c’étaient les médias qui décidaient du début d’un conflit, à partir du moment où les journalistes se rendaient sur place. La multiplication des images tournées par les protagonistes eux-mêmes, couplées à leur diffusion quasi-instantanée, modifie cette équation. Avons-nous encore besoin des journalistes ?

Les images sont des outils et des armes pour la conduite des guerres. Ce n’est pas nouveau en soi, mais ce qui l’est sans doute davantage est la multiplication de leurs sources. C’est par conséquent un moment propice pour questionner le travail journalistique « classique », celui qui s’appuie notamment sur le témoignage rarement contesté des correspondants de guerre. Tout l’appareillage entourant cette couverture médiatique paraît déjà un peu dépassé et sera peut-être bientôt caduc : les envoyés spéciaux, les équipes de tournage, les camions satellite, les hôtels de guerre, les « flash info » et autres « breaking news » , le jingle dramatique du téléjournal…Qu’est-ce qu’une « bonne » image de conflit ? Où se fabriquent-elles et comment seront-elles construites demain ? Comment en faire une critique par d’autres images ? La production et la diffusion médiatiques créent des dispositifs dans lesquels nous sommes pris, et auxquels nous contribuons plus ou moins volontairement. Ce sont les détails — parfois bénins en apparence — de ces dispositifs qu’on peut essayer de décrire, pour pouvoir les penser et peut-être s’en dégager.
E.L.

/////

Rencontre avec le public le samedi 22 octobre 2011 à 14h.

Jacko Restikian, artiste et doctorant en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQÀM.

Alexandre Shields, journaliste au Devoir.

Modérateur : Philippe Langlois, professeur de philosophie au Cégep de Sherbrooke.

Table-ronde de 14h – 15h suivi des questions / commentaires du public

Une activité de table-ronde qui s’inspire de l’œuvre exposée en salle How Do We Know What We Know ? d’Emanuel Licha. L’installation de Licha questionne notre rapport à l’image médiatique et soulève la question de la construction des images, notamment celle des images de conflits.

Pour l’occasion, nous réunissons Jacko Restikian, doctorant en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQÀM, qui abordera la position de l’artiste à travers ses images et notre rapport à son dispositif d’installation et Alexandre Shields, journaliste pour LeDevoir, qui abordera la construction de l’information à partir du point de vue de sa profession.

Entrée libre

/////

En considérant les expositions comme des plateformes permettant la convergence de différents enjeux disciplinaires, le comité de programmation détermine une thématique à partir du travail exposé en salle, et réunit divers intervenants pour approfondir l’enjeu ciblé selon des angles disciplinaires variés. Sporobole favorise ainsi le contact avec différents champs de connaissance et permet aux artistes exposés de situer leur travail au sein de réflexions transdisciplinaires.

Sporobole remercie la Ville de Sherbrooke pour son soutien.

Vidéo : Patric Lacasse

Photos : Jocelyn Riendeau