COUTURIER LAFARGUE / EXHIBITION / ASBESTOS STORM

COUTURIER LAFARGUE
12.03 — 26.04 / 2014

Opening date : 12 March 2014

5 PM

Asbestos Storm

For more than a century, the miners of Asbestos excavated a huge asbestos mine. Paradoxically, this gigantic “hole” gobbled up entire sections of the town as it grew. LC and JGL examined the open-pit mine by staying there for four days and three nights, in a trailer right at the bottom of the pit. Their approach to this crater – two kilometres wide and 370 metres deep – took the form of total immersion, living in and exploring an outsize environment to produce never before seen images. Today, the depth of the pit captured in these images has been reduced by rising water levels since the mine was put out of service soon after the artists’ intervention.

Asbestos Storm brings out the singular qualities of this mining excavation. Its cumulative effect is to prompt reflection on the effects of our society’s industrial choices and to underscore the heritage quality of this definitive transformation of the environment of the town of Asbestos.

Publicity stills with an obsolete pro-asbestos message, a “video snowstorm” and photographs of the immense pit make up the three parts of the installation by the duo Couturier-Lafargue entitled Asbestos Storm.

This project received funding from the Canada Council for the Arts and support from the Jeffrey mine and the town of Asbestos.

Artists Louis Couturier and Jacky Georges Lafargue will present their work during a talk on Friday, March 14 at 2:00 pm at Sporobole.

/////

Louis Couturier and Jacky Georges Lafargue have been playing as a duo since 1991 in France and Quebec. Their approach consists in searching for relevant forms from the recorded images and materials they discover in isolated or unusual sites. Their approach is as follows: surveying, photographing, filming the environment, meeting women and men, creating singular and privileged moments. They develop different kinds of visual and reflexive contents: video and photographic installations, multidisciplinary sculptures, photographs and drawings on paper.

Their recent projects have been produced in Radisson and Chisasibi (James Bay, 2013), Murdochville (Gaspésie, 2012) and Asbestos (Estrie, 2012). Their latest exhibitions have been seen at the University of Rochester (Rochester, New York, February-March 2014), the Yukon Arts Centre (Whitehorse, Yukon, 2013), the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (2011-2012), the Musée de Picardie (Amiens, France (2011-2012)) and the Moose Jaw Museum and Art Gallery (Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan (2011-2012).

/////

In conjunction with the exhibition Asbestos Storm by artists Louis Couturier and Jacky Georges Lafargue, Sporobole will present the film Watermark by Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky on Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 5pm at Sporobole.

Filmmaker Jennifer Baichwal and photographer Edward Burtynsky travel the world to explore the world’s most important resource: water. Their journey takes them from the Colorado River, whose tributaries no longer flow into the sea, to China, to the site of Xiluodu, the world’s largest dam. Greenland, where scientists are studying the ice cap, and the banks of the Ganges, where 30 million Indians are taking a sacred bath at the same time, are among the stops on their ten-nation journey to bear witness to our abusive consumption of water, as well as the devastating effects of pollution on aquatic reserves.

2013 – Canada, 92 minutes

COUTURIER LAFARGUE / EXPOSITION / ASBESTOS STORM

COUTURIER LAFARGUE
12.03 — 26.04 / 2014

Vernissage le 3 Décembre 2014

17h

Asbestos Storm

Pendant plus d’un siècle, les mineurs d’Asbestos ont creusé une immense mine d’amiante. Paradoxalement, ce « trou » gigantesque a avalé au fur et à mesure de sa croissance des pans entiers de la ville.  JGL et LC ont abordé la mine à ciel ouvert en y séjournant pendant quatre jours et trois nuits, tout au fond, dans une roulotte. Leur approche de cet entonnoir – large de deux kilomètres et profond de 370 mètres – a pris la forme d’une immersion totale : habiter et explorer un environnement hors normes pour produire des images inédites. Des images d’un relief aujourd’hui englouti par la montée du niveau de l’eau qui a suivi la cessation de l’exploitation de la mine, peu après l’intervention des artistes.

Asbestos Storm met en avant les caractéristiques singulières de ce terrassement minier. L’ensemble propose une réflexion sur les effets des choix industriels de notre société, tout en soulignant le caractère patrimonial de cette transformation définitive de l’environnement de la ville d’Asbestos.

Images publicitaires teintées d’un discours pro-amiante obsolète, « vidéo tempête » et photographies de l’immense puits forment les trois parties de l’installation globale du duo Couturier-Lafargue intitulée Asbestos Storm.

Ce projet a bénéficié du soutien financier du Conseil des arts du Canada ainsi que de l’appui de la Mine Jeffrey et de la Ville d’Asbestos

Les artistes Louis Couturier et Jacky Georges Lafargue présenteront leur travail lors d’une causerie le vendredi 14 mars à 14h00 à Sporobole.

/////

Louis Couturier et Jacky Georges Lafargue évoluent en duo depuis 1991 en France et au Québec. Leur démarche consiste à rechercher des formes pertinentes à partir des images enregistrées et des matériaux qu’ils découvrent dans des sites isolés ou hors normes. Leur approche est la suivante : arpenter, photographier, filmer l’environnement, rencontrer des femmes, des hommes, créer des moments singuliers et privilégiés. Ils développent des contenus visuels et réflexifs de différentes sortes : installations vidéo et photographiques, sculptures pluridisciplinaires, photographies et dessins sur papier.

Leurs récents projets ont été produits à Radisson et Chisasibi (Baie-James, 2013), Murdochville (Gaspésie, 2012) et Asbestos (Estrie, 2012). Leurs dernières expositions ont été vues à l’Université de Rochester (Rochester, État de New York, février-mars 2014), au Yukon Arts Centre (Whitehorse, Yukon, 2013), au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2011-2012), au Musée de Picardie (Amiens, France (2011-2012)) et au Moose Jaw Museum and Art Gallery (Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan (2011-2012).

/////

En lien avec l’exposition Asbestos Storm des artistes Louis Couturier et Jacky Georges Lafargue, Sporobole présentera le film Watermark de Jennifer Baichwal et Edward Burtynsky le jeudi 10 avril 2014 à 17h à Sporobole.

////

La cinéaste Jennifer Baichwal et le photographe Edward Burtynsky parcourent la planète afin de se pencher sur la ressource la plus importante de celle-ci: l’eau. Leur périple les conduit de la rivière Colorado, dont les affluents ne se rendent plus à la mer, jusqu’en Chine, sur le site de Xiluodu, le plus grand barrage au monde. Le Groenland, où des scientifiques étudient la calotte glaciaire, et les rives du Gange, où 30 millions d’Indiens prennent un bain sacré en même temps, sont au nombre des escales de leur trajet de dix pays visant à témoigner de notre consommation abusive de l’eau, ainsi que des effets dévastateurs de la pollution sur les réserves aquatiques.

2013 – Canada, 92 minutes