MARLÈNE FERRARI / EXHIBITION / ENTRE NOUS SOIT DIT

MARLÈNE FERRARI
13.01 — 06.03 / 2010

Opening date : 13 January 2010

17h

“Borrowing directly from the visual codes of advertising and commercial signs, my pictorial work is deliberately revamped. While exploring the multiple facets of fluorescent colour and its physical effects on the viewer (saturation, simultaneous contrast, glare), I focus on questioning the meaning of ordinary words. From these words, sentences or proposals, often chosen for their ambiguity or dichotomy, I elaborate textual frescoes whose monumental character and fluorescence impose a constant comings and goings between seduction and disappointment. Thus my painting wants to transform the painting into a presence that is difficult to sustain for the eye, an uncomfortable presence that causes both physical and semantic discomfort.

Adjoining formal painting strategies to those of advertising, my work thus questions our habits of perception, our way of seeing and communicating. He also questions the ambiguity between art and advertising or how the painting (any kind of message for a non-targeted audience) differs from the logo (a clear message for a targeted audience). We observe that the painting, leaving the field of clear ideas, then causes confusion.

The installation, whose title would almost announce a confidence, opposes a mural painting with several paintings. Almost self-centered, they keep talking about themselves. Thus, in this semblance of dialogue in the blatant colours that remind us of emergency signs, confidence vanishes. »

M.F.

 

Photos / Bertrand Breuque

MARLÈNE FERRARI / EXPOSITION / ENTRE NOUS SOIT DIT

MARLÈNE FERRARI
13.01 — 06.03 / 2010

Vernissage le 1 janvier 2011

17h

« Empruntant directement les codes visuels de la publicité et des enseignes commerciales, mon travail pictural est volontairement racoleur. Tout en explorant les multiples facettes de la couleur fluorescente et de ses effets physiques sur le regardeur (saturation, contraste simultané, éblouissement), je m’attache à interroger le sens des mots ordinaires. À partir de ces mots, phrases ou propositions choisies bien souvent pour leur ambiguïté ou leur dichotomie, j’élabore des fresques textuelles dont le caractère monumental et la fluorescence imposent un va-et-vient incessant entre séduction et déception. Ainsi ma peinture veut transformer le tableau en une présence difficilement soutenable pour le regard, une présence inconfortable qui entraîne une gêne à la fois physique et sémantique.

Jouxtant des stratégies de peinture formelle à celles de la publicité, mon travail interroge ainsi nos habitudes de perception, notre manière de voir et de communiquer. Il questionne également l’ambiguïté entre art et publicité ou comment le tableau (toute sorte de message pour une clientèle non ciblée) se distingue du logo (un message clair pour une clientèle ciblée). On observe que le tableau, quittant le champ des idées claires, sème alors la confusion.

L’installation, dont le titre annoncerait presque une confidence, oppose une peinture murale à plusieurs tableaux. Presque égocentriques, ils n’ont de cesse de parler d’eux-mêmes. C’est ainsi que, dans ce semblant de dialogue aux couleurs criardes qui nous rappellent les panneaux de signalisation d’urgence, la confidence s’évanouit. »

M.F.

 

Photos / Bertrand Breuque