JEAN-PIERRE AUBÉ ET PATRICK BEAULIEU / EXHIBITION / GÉOPOLITIQUE DE L'INFINI

JEAN-PIERRE AUBÉ ET PATRICK BEAULIEU
18.01 — 03.03 / 2012

Opening date : 18 January 2012

17h

The works of Jean-Pierre Aubé and Patrick Beaulieu gathered for the exhibition question our relationship to nature, space and the world. With Photo-synthesis (2004), Jean-Pierre Aubé makes sensitive the minute variations in luminosity in a given place while his new project shows and hears the elusive presence of Exoplanets (2011) located outside our solar system. Patrick Beaulieu’s Ventury (2010-2011) project tells the story of a transboundary odyssey in pursuit of the winds of America, while its installation, Battements (2007-2011), features a migratory bird feather subjected to movement and lighting that transform the state of matter. Intrinsically linked to the question of landscape, these unpublished projects establish a relationship with space marked by immensity and the elusive, which opens a breach of infinity. They formulate a geopolitics that focuses on the space between and above things.

A joint understanding of the artistic practices of these two artists makes it possible to establish several connections between their approaches. The attention given to the exploration of natural phenomena, based on the extraction or capture of elements from the landscape; the articulation of their works around the notions of movement, circulation, wave, flow, frequency, beat, interval, rhythm, density, saturation and circularity; the emphasis placed by their approaches on the process as a constituent element of the work; their shared interest in invisible or elusive circulations, here are some of these reasons that in turn suggest the interest of their dialogue.

While Patrick Beaulieu’s works seek to create a “contemplative vertigo”, the images and sound waves of Jean-Pierre Aubé’s installations generate a kind of perpetual crackling that unfolds its bewitching character. This aspect of the artists’ work evokes the poetry of the idea of infinity: would we look at the works of Jean-Pierre Aubé and Patrick Beaulieu as we would at a starry sky or a flight of birds, with an ever-changing fascination?
Véronique Leblanc, Curator.

/////

Sporobole invites you, as part of the exhibition Geopolitics of Infinity, to participate in Vents apparents, a walk and a discussion about the Ventury project with the artist Patrick Beaulieu and the author Daniel Canty. They suggest that we follow the signs of the wind during an exploratory walk in the heart of downtown Sherbrooke. The activity will begin with an introduction to the exhibition by curator Véronique Leblanc, and will be followed by a forty-minute exploratory walk (of varying length depending on the temperature).

Ventury is a 25-day transboundary odyssey guided by the winds of America, starting from Chicago. Interested in the influence of wind on human beings, nature, urban planning and geography, Patrick Beaulieu pursued the air currents aboard the Blue Rider, a “pick-up” equipped with wind observation tools – weather vane, meteorological flag and windvane. He was accompanied by three co-pilot authors who took over during the crossing: landscape architect Alexis Pernet and writers Daniel Canty and Dauphin Vincent. Together, these “wind researchers” have carried out a kind of land navigation by trying, as best they could, to combine the continent’s road configuration with the fluidity of air currents. / venturyodyssey.com

Ventury is the second part of a trilogy produced in collaboration with Daniel Canty. For Vecteur monarque (2007), the idea was to follow, in an obsolete postal truck, the migratory cloud of monarch butterflies on its annual trip from Quebec to Mexico / vectormonarca.com. The third part of the trilogy, entitled Vegas (2012), will be a poetic and intuitive journey in search of fortune.
Following the walk, exchanges around cross-border odysseys will continue at Sporobole.

FREE ENTRANCE
Hot drinks will be served.
Bring your thermos!
74 Albert Street (downtown Sherbrooke)

/////

Photos : Jocelyn Riendeau

JEAN-PIERRE AUBÉ ET PATRICK BEAULIEU / EXPOSITION / GÉOPOLITIQUE DE L'INFINI

JEAN-PIERRE AUBÉ ET PATRICK BEAULIEU
18.01 — 03.03 / 2012

Vernissage le 1 juin 2013

17h

Géopolitique de l’infini: Jean-Pierre Aubé et Patrick Beaulieu

Les œuvres de Jean-Pierre Aubé et de Patrick Beaulieu rassemblées pour l’exposition Géopolitique de l’infini questionnent notre rapport à la nature, à l’espace et au monde. Avec Photo-synthèse (2004), Jean-Pierre Aubé rend sensibles les infimes variations de la luminosité dans un endroit donné alors que son nouveau projet donne à voir et à entendre l’insaisissable présence d’Exoplanètes (2011) situées à l’extérieur de notre système solaire. Le projet Ventury (2010-2011), de Patrick Beaulieu, raconte le récit d’une odyssée transfrontière à la poursuite des vents d’Amérique tandis que son installation, Battements (2007-2011), met en scène une plume d’oiseau migrateur soumise à un mouvement et à un éclairage qui transforment l’état de la matière. Intrinsèquement liés à la question du paysage, ces projets inédits établissent un rapport à l’espace marqué par  l’immensité et l’insaisissable qui ouvre une brèche sur l’infini. Ils formulent une géopolitique qui s’attarde à l’espace entre les choses et au-dessus d’elles.

Appréhender conjointement les pratiques artistiques de ces deux artistes permet d’emblée d’établir plusieurs correspondances entre leurs démarches. L’attention portée à l’exploration de phénomènes naturels, se  basant sur le prélèvement ou la captation d’éléments à même le paysage; l’articulation de leurs œuvres autour des notions de mouvement, de circulation, d’onde, de flux, de fréquence, de battement, d’intervalle, de rythme, de densité, de saturation et de circularité; l’accent mis par leurs démarches sur le processus comme élément constitutif de l’œuvre; leur intérêt partagé pour les circulations invisibles ou insaisissables, voici quelquesuns de ces motifs qui laissent tour à tour entrevoir l’intérêt de leur mise en dialogue.

Alors que les œuvres de Patrick Beaulieu cherchent la création d’un « vertige contemplatif », les images et les  ondes sonores des installations de Jean-Pierre Aubé génèrent une sorte de grésillement perpétuel qui déploie son caractère envoûtant. Cet aspect du travail des artistes évoque la poésie de l’idée d’infini : regarderait-on les œuvres de Jean-Pierre Aubé et de Patrick Beaulieu comme on observerait un ciel étoilé ou une envolée  d’oiseaux, avec une fascination sans cesse renouvelée ?

Véronique Leblanc, commissaire

/////

Sporobole vous invite, dans le cadre de l’exposition Géopolitique de l’infini, à participer à Vents apparents, une promenade et une discussion autour du projet Ventury en compagnie de l’artiste Patrick Beaulieu et de l’auteur Daniel Canty. Ils nous proposent de pister, au cours d’une marche exploratoire au cœur du centre-ville de Sherbrooke, les signes du vent. L’activité débutera par une introduction à l’exposition par la commissaire Véronique Leblanc, et sera suivie d’une marche exploratoire d’une quarantaine de minutes (d’une durée variable selon la température).

Ventury est une odyssée transfrontières de 25 jours guidée par les vents d’Amérique, dont le point de départ était Chicago. Intéressé par l’influence du vent sur l’être humain, la nature, l’urbanisme et la géographie, Patrick Beaulieu a poursuivi les courants aériens à bord du Blue Rider, un « pick-up » muni d’outils d’observation des vents — girouette, drapeau météorologique et vire-vent. Il était accompagné de trois auteurs co-pilotes qui ont pris le relais durant la traversée :l’architecte paysagiste Alexis Pernet et les écrivains Daniel Canty et Dauphin Vincent. Ensemble, ces « chercheurs de vent » ont effectué une sorte de navigation terrestre en tentant, tant bien que mal, de faire conjuguer la configuration routière du continent avec la fluidité des courants aériens. / venturyodyssey.com

Ventury est le second volet d’une trilogie réalisée avec la collaboration de Daniel Canty. Pour Vecteur monarque (2007), il s’agissait de suivre, dans un camion postal vétuste, la nuée migratoire des papillons monarques dans son voyage annuel du Québec au Mexique / vectormonarca.com. Le troisième volet de la trilogie, intitulé Vegas (2012), sera une traversée poétique et intuitive à la recherche de la bonne aventure.
Suite à la promenade, les échanges autour des odyssées transfrontières se poursuivront à Sporobole.

ENTRÉE LIBRE
Des boissons chaudes seront servies.
Apportez votre thermos !
74, rue Albert (au centre-ville de Sherbrooke)

/////

Photos : Jocelyn Riendeau