CATHERINE PRÉFONTAINE / EXHIBITION AND CONFERENCE / POSTILLONS - INTEMPÉRIES DU LANGUAGE

CATHERINE PRÉFONTAINE
16.01 — 02.03 / 2013

Opening date : 16 January 2013

17h

Spraying saliva is the inclement weather of language” – Jules Renard

Catherine Préfontaine creates visual schemas of non-visual natural phenomena. Through the implied filter of the body as barrier and receptacle she plumbs the entire human body as it runs up against the world‚ a sensory overflow.

Préfontaine proceeds by scraping, perforating and recovering walls. Improvisation is her preferred strategy for exploring corporeal memories and physical and emotional states. For the past year she has repeatedly created holes in the walls of her studio. The groups of holes that have emerged through this process made her think of sprays of saliva (postillons) and the holes in the dial of old telephones.

In preparation for this exhibition at Sporobole, she photographed and created multiple transparencies of them. In the gallery, she exhibits them alongside drawings. The resulting constellations circumscribe and punctuate the room like a body shot through with holes.

The installation Postillons/Intempéries du langage shows the artist engaging through the practice of drawing with an in situ work. The space is treated like a recording of sensorial perceptions. The installation may be seen as an amplified field of the tormented clamour of a deafened world.

C.P., K.T.

The artist thanks Karen Trask and Myriam Yates.

/////

Sporobole invites you to Catherine Préfontaine’s artist presentation on Saturday, March 2 from 1:30 pm to 2:30 pm.

Catherine Préfontaine is interested in visually schematizing phenomena of a non-visual nature. It is through the implied filter of the body as a barrier and as a receptacle that the integrity of the human being is probed as he or she encounters the sensory invasions of the world.

The artist proceeds by actions on the surface of the walls that she scratches, perforates and covers. Improvisation is privileged as a strategy to explore body memories, physical and emotional states. For the past year, she has been repeatedly drilling holes in the walls of her studio. The sets of holes that have emerged from this process make her think of sputtering, as well as the holes in old telephone handsets.

Catherine Préfontaine’s presentation will be followed by a visit to the research laboratories of the Groupe de Recherche en Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke (GAUS) with André Berry.

/////

NOISE POLLUTION / Presentation & 5 to 7

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 4pm

Noise pollution presentation by Alain Berry, Co-Chair of the NSERC Industrial Research Chair (Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada) in acoustics applied to aviation and Professor at the Université de Sherbrooke.

Followed by a 5 to 7 with Eastern Bloc, a production and exhibition centre dedicated to the promotion of new media and interdisciplinary arts (Mtl).

Free entrance

The presentation will focus on noise pollution, and will address sound as a physical and perceived object. Some examples of recent research in noise reduction will be presented.

Alain Berry is a titular professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at the Sherbrooke University. He is a member of the GAUS (Groupe d’Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke) and currently holds an NSERC Industrial Chair in Aviation Acoustics.

His research areas are vibro-acoustics, active noise and vibration control, sound field reproduction and acoustic imaging. He currently collaborates with several companies in the aerospace and automotive sectors on environmental acoustics and internal acoustic comfort issues.

Link to the GAUS

 

/////

Visit of Sherbrooke University Acoustics Group laboratories at 3:00 p. m.

Following the conference on noise pollution given in Sporobole by researcher Alain Berry, professor of mechanical engineering at Sherbrooke University, the laboratories of the Groupe d’Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke (GAUS) exceptionally open their doors to us to present their research and installations.

Visitors will be able to discover and experience the possibly quietest space in Sherbrooke: the anechoic chamber of the GAUS. This unique acoustic space is both isolated from the noises of the outside world by tons of materials and isolated from itself since the interior surfaces prohibit any sound reflection: it is echo-free. It is, in principle, a free, neutral and silent acoustic environment. This type of laboratory space has had a remarkable influence on John Cage and his understanding of sound and music. An experience to live.

Free admission: Limited number of places: Please book at: programmation@sporobole.org Please book by next Wednesday, the address of the laboratories will then be communicated to you.

This visit is part of our peripheral activities *
Note that the last day of Catherine Préfontaine’s indoor exhibition will be Saturday, March 2 (instead of Sunday, March 3).

* Peripheral activities respond to our desire to break down the barriers between artistic practice and contact with the immediate community through a transdisciplinary approach. A theme from the work presented in the room is extracted and discussed in the form of conferences, round tables or other types of activities bringing together researchers and speakers from various disciplines.

 

Photos: Jocelyn Riendeau

visites sur rendez-vous

CATHERINE PRÉFONTAINE / EXPOSITION ET CONFÉRENCE / POSTILLONS - INTEMPÉRIES DU LANGUAGE

CATHERINE PRÉFONTAINE
16.01 — 02.03 / 2013

Vernissage le 16 janvier 2013

17h

« Les postillons sont les intempéries du langage. » – Jules Renard

Catherine Préfontaine s’intéresse à schématiser des phénomènes de nature non visuelle. C’est par le filtre sous-entendu du corps comme barrière et comme réceptacle qu’est sondée l’intégrité de l’être humain qui se bute aux envahisseurs sensoriels du monde.

L’artiste procède par des actions sur la surface des murs qu’elle gratte, perfore et recouvre. L’improvisation est privilégiée en tant que stratégie pour explorer les mémoires corporelles, les états physiques et émotionnels. Depuis un an, de façon répétée, elle troue les murs de son atelier. Les ensembles de trous qui ont émergé de ce processus lui font penser à des postillons, de même qu’aux trous présents dans les anciens combinés de téléphones.

En préparation pour l’exposition à Sporobole, elle les a photographiés et les a démultipliés en transparence. En galerie, elle les agence avec le dessin. Les constellations qui en résultent circonscrivent et ponctuent la salle comme un corps criblé de balles.

Postillons / Intempéries du langage propose une installation où l’artiste s’investit dans la pratique du dessin avec une oeuvre in situ. L’espace est abordé comme un enregistrement des perceptions sensorielles. L’installation peut se voir comme un champ amplifié de la clameur tourmentée d’un monde assourdi.

C.P., K.T.

L’artiste tient à remercier Karen Trask et Myriam Yates

/////

Sporobole vous invite à la présentation d’artiste de Catherine Préfontaine, le samedi 2 mars de 13h30 à 14h30.

Catherine Préfontaine s’intéresse à schématiser visuellement des phénomènes de nature non visuelle. C’est par le filtre sous-entendu du corps comme barrière et comme réceptacle qu’est sondée l’intégrité de l’être humain qui se bute aux envahissements sensoriels du monde.

L’artiste procède par des actions sur la surface des murs qu’elle gratte, perfore et recouvre. L’improvisation est privilégiée en tant que stratégie pour explorer les mémoires corporelles, les états physiques et émotionnels. Depuis un an, de façon répétée, elle troue les murs de son atelier. Les ensembles de trous qui ont émergé de ce processus lui font penser à des postillons, de même qu’aux trous présents dans les anciens combinés de téléphones.

La présentation de Catherine Préfontaine sera suivie d’une visite des laboratoires de recherche du Groupe de Recherche en Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke (GAUS) avec André Berry.

/////

Visite des laboratoires du Groupe d’Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke à 15h.

Suite à la conférence sur la pollution sonore donnée à Sporobole par le chercheur Alain Berry, professeur en  génie mécanique à l’Université de Sherbrooke, les laboratoires du Groupe d’Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke (GAUS) nous ouvrent exceptionnellement leurs portes pour présenter leurs recherches et installations.

Les visiteurs pourront découvrir et faire l’expérience auditive de l’espace possiblement le plus silencieux de Sherbrooke : soit la chambre anéchoïque du GAUS. Cet espace acoustique singulier est à la fois isolé des bruits du monde extérieur par des tonnes de matériels et isolé de lui-même puisque les surfaces intérieures interdisent toute réflexion sonore : il est sans écho. C’est, en principe, un environnement acoustique libre, neutre et silencieux. Ce type d’espace de laboratoire a d’ailleurs eu une influence remarquable sur John Cage et sa compréhension du son et de la musique. Une expérience à vivre.

Entrée libre : Nombre de places limitées :  SVP réservez à : programmation@sporobole.org Prière de réserver d’ici mercredi prochain, l’adresse des laboratoires vous sera alors communiquée.

Cette visite s’inscrit dans le cadre de nos activités périphériques *
À noter que la dernière journée de l’exposition en salle de Catherine Préfontaine sera le samedi 2 mars (au lieu du dimanche 3 mars).

* Les activités périphériques répondent à notre désir de décloisonnement de la pratique artistique et de contact avec la communauté immédiate par une approche transdisciplinaire. Une thématique issue du travail présenté en salle est extraite et discutée sous forme de conférences, de tables rondes ou lors d’autres types d’activités réunissant des chercheurs et intervenants issus de diverses disciplines.

Lien pour le GAUS 

 

/////

POLLUTION SONORE / Présentation & 5 à 7

Samedi le 9 février 2013 à 16h

Présentation sur la pollution sonore donnée par Alain Berry Co-titulaire de la Chaire de recherche industrielle du CRSNG (Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada) en acoustique appliquée à l’aviation et professeur à l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Suivi d’un 5 à 7 avec Eastern Bloc, centre de production et d’exposition voué à la promotion des nouveaux médias et des arts interdisciplinaires (Mtl) .

Entrée libre

La présentation portera sur la pollution sonore, et abordera le son comme objet physique et comme objet perçu. Quelques exemples de recherches récentes en réduction du bruit seront présentés.

Alain Berry est Professeur titulaire au Département de Génie Mécanique de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il est membre du GAUS (Groupe d’Acoustique de l’Université de Sherbrooke) et détient actuellement une Chaire industrielle du CRSNG en Acoustique appliquée à l’Aviation.

Ses domaines de recherche sont la vibro-acoustique, le contrôle actif de bruit et vibrations, la reproduction de champs sonores et l’imagerie acoustique. Il collabore actuellement avec plusieurs compagnies dans les secteurs aérospatial et automobile sur des problématiques d’acoustique environnementale et de confort acoustique interne.

Alain Berry – Professeur Titulaire au Département de Génie Mécanique de L’Université de Sherbrooke

Eastern Bloc – centre de production et d’exposition

 

Photos ; Jocelyn Riendeau